OK so I’ve said I’m going to update everybody on what’s going on with me and I haven’t been able to figure out how to put it into words.  It all comes down to Grandmother and what an important part of my life she is, so now I’ll start with some background.

My parents were pushed into a shotgun wedding at the age of 20.  My mom bailed when I was two.  My mom is one of my best friends and she did what was best for everybody at the time.  So my dad was left all alone with me in Noman, Oklahoma.  His parents had recently relocated to the Washington, D.C. area.  So my dad put me on a plane with good family friends to my grandparents’ and followed me shortly thereafter.

My dad and I lived with them for several years.  In a nutshell, after my dad moved out I did live with him a few times, but mostly he just wasn’t ready, and as any single dad in his 20s would do, he made some mistakes.  Again, I have to say that I am and always will be Daddy’s Girl and I don’t blame him for anything.

Eventually Grandmother and Granddad moved to Salado, Texas, and Iived there with them for most of the rest of my childhood, even going back over and over until I married at 27.  I was about as “together” in my 20s as my parents were.

So Grandmother and Granddad took on another child to raise during what should have been free retirement  years, and I was not an easy child.  We lost Granddad to lung cancer in 2000, leaving my Grandmother and I as the only immediately family left in Texas.  For all intents and purposes, Grandmother is my mother, and my boys aside, we are the most important people in each other’s lives.

To be continued…

